Please Wait a Moment

News Releases

Publications News Releases

News Release – Oct. 7, 2022

Virginia Municipal League Installs New Executive Board

Friday, October 7, 2022/Categories: News Releases

The membership of the Virginia Municipal League (VML) recently installed new officers and members to its Executive Board. The new leadership was elected Monday, Oct. 3, 2022 at the League’s annual conference in Richmond.  View full news release >

Jill Carson, vice-mayor for the Town of Pennington Gap, became president. She was previously the president-elect.

A. D. “Chuckie” Reid, vice mayor for the Town of Farmville, was elected president-elect. He was previously the vice president.

Derrick Wood, mayor for the Town of Dumfries, was elected vice president. He was formerly an at-large member of the Board.

Elected as at-large members of the Board were Robert C. Ike, Jr. councilmember for the City of Chesapeake; Steve Trivett, mayor for the Town of Ashland; and Stephanie Moon Reynolds, councilmember for the City of Roanoke. Continuing as at-large members on the Board are Kelly Burk, mayor for the Town of Leesburg; Phil Miskovic, mayor for the Town of Crewe; and Bill Rush, town manager for the Town of Marion.

The thirteen-member Executive Board is rounded out by Immediate Past President Jon Stehle, councilmember for the City of Fairfax; Urban Section Chair Katie Cristol, board member for the County of Arlington; City Section Chair Randy C. Eads, city manager for the City of Bristol, and Town Section Chair D. Dwayne Tuggle, mayor for the Town of Amherst. The section chairs were elected during Section meetings held earlier in the day.

VML’s Executive Board oversees the activities of the League. Representatives of the Executive Board must be elected or appointed officials of a city, town, or county who is a member of VML.

Also elected to leadership positions during the conference were section vice-chairs. The Town Section vice-chair is Steve Bennett, vice-mayor for the Town of Cape Charles; the Urban Section vice-chair is Michelle Davis-Younger, mayor for the City of Manassas; the City Section vice-chair is TBD.